Riots stop play

Tonight, I had hoped to have been at the National Theatre in London, to see the rarely performed Ibsen play Emperor and Galilean. I had hoped afterwards to write a review here of the production. Alas, the best laid plans of mice and men, and all that… After last night’s appalling riots in various parts of London, it seemed best not to venture tonight into the centre of the city. After all, the train I would have taken passes through Clapham Junction, the scene of some horrendous violence last night.  I have no idea what will happen tonight – I am hoping, naturally, that nothing more will happen – but I don’t want to risk being stranded in a riot-torn city, with the trains cancelled.

So that’s £20 down the drain, and no play. But there are many others who have suffered and have lost far more. I try not to get into politics on this blog, but I am very angry and deeply saddened by what has been happening in the city which, over the years, I have come to love.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by alan on August 9, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    This is the best piece I’ve read on the riots so far.
    I don’t agree with all of it, but it does have a feeling of authenticity that I’ve seen lacking in some of the political postures that I’ve seen so far.
    Also, I guess I have a soft spot for anyone who stresses the importance of reading.
    (p.s. don’t read the blog comments if you are easily distressed, they rarely seem to moderate them)

    Reply

  2. Posted by alan on August 9, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    By the way, I’m talking about the post by ‘rosamicula’ above the comments, not the rest of it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 343 other followers

