Some useful advice from Word Press

When I go into my dashboard, I find some no doubt well-intentioned advice from WordPress:

Blogs are not just for long posts. Why not post a photo or video instead?

Well, I enjoy writing long posts, right? Dear me!

13 responses to this post.

  1. And we enjoy reading your long posts, so you just keep right on doing what you do. :)

    Reply

    • Thanks for that, Eric. I know I am a bit wordy, long-winded, verbose, loquacious, periphrastic … and if I had a thesaurus handy I could come up with a few more choice words … but hey! – leave me alone, I’m having a great time! :)

      It’s great to know that there’s at least someone out there who enjoys my logorrhoea!

      Reply

  2. Hey Himadri that looks a very good idea – I am collecting stuff like that and I can try to get hold of some good things to put in – the Video Camera I have – is not in any way elaborate – but I tried to get a Squirrel interested in being photographed. It was – so a “No Joy” result – the little thing patted his paws up and down a bit – then Kapow – he was gone. My laugh of the day was in trying to explain to a neighbour not only do I NOT have a film – but that it does not NEED one – so ? do you also get days like that – when the oddest things seem to happen. Example –

    I asked – “You came from Newcastle not so ??”
    Reply – “No I came by Train”
    I am still trying to fighure that one out.

    Reply

    • Hello Patricia, – no, I don’t quite understand that one either! :)

      I suppose I should put more pictures & video clips in my posts, but one of the reasons for starting this blog in teh first place was that I love writing. And who on earth would want to see my photographs anyway?

      (An example of my … er .. photography skills may be found in this post.)

      Reply

  3. What gets to me in the dumbing-down of their “spelling” recommendations. They don’t only tackle grammar errors, they suggest easier words, have you noticed? Examples:

    – “status quo” with “things as they are”
    – “previous” with “earlier”
    – “implement” with “carry out”
    – “ensure” with “make sure”
    – “provide” with “give”

    Reply

    • Hello Alex, and welcome to this blog. It’s interesting that the “recommendations” you cite are by no means exact synonyms: “carry out” doesn’t quite mean “implement”, “provide” doesn’t quite mean “give”, and so on. English is a rich language with a wide vocabulary, so why restrict oneself to only a small handful of words? I don’t mean one should use obscure words just because they are obscure – that’s just silly – but one should surely try to use the right word to convey what one means, even of thay word does happen to be a relatively obscure word.

      It does strike me that despite our achievement in providing education to everyone – and it is a wonderful achievement – the general level of literacy appears to be declining by the day. But i’ll keep that rant for another day! :)

      Cheers, Himadri

      Reply

  4. Posted by alan on November 28, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Maybe they are feeling the competition from other forms of social media.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Erika W. on December 1, 2011 at 12:30 am

    Although I don’t respond very often your long, literate entries are a delight and very good for my aging gray brain cells–don’t ever change the style unless you wish to.

    How very impertinent of word press–I had no idea that they do this!

    A dubious pleasure of mine, shared by my husband , is to lie in bed before breakfast in the very early morning listening to the BBC World News Report and totting up grammatical errors and mispronounced names, etc. and not from those who are not English speakers normally but of the BBC regulars. I really do wonder about education in Britain these days.

    Reply

    • Thank you very much for that, Erika. I have often bene told by friends that I am too verbose, but I never did see much to admire in terseness for its own sake. My tastes in reading, too, tend towards the expansive rather than towards the concentrated: I am more a “maximalist” rather than a “minimalist”, I think!

      Standards of literacy are, I’m afraid, on teh decline. I don’t mean typos or errors in proof-reading (I am guilty of both, frequently) – but errors that are clearly indicative of lack of awareness of even the most basic rules of grammar. And as a father of two teenage children, I think you are entirely right to wonder about the standard of education in Britain these days: our 16-year-old daughter, despite having been in the top stream in English for many years, has only been obliged to read a single book from cover to cover (Of Mice and Men), and hasn’t been obliged to read any Shakespeare at all. But I have ranted about that often enough here, so I’ll save the next rant for later. But it is dispiriting, nonetheless.

      However, with the Festive Season now approachig, I’d like this blog to be a happy, cheerful place – at least for the next few eeks. Only this morning I was reading some Kafka to cheer myself up…

      Reply

  6. Posted by A.M.C. Dibbler, purveyor of mind mushing ideas. on December 1, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    They are as well intentioned as Father Brown- they amble, yet there may be some greater intent and intellect.

    Reply

    • Hello Mr Dibbler, I’m afraid you have lost me completely with this post. What are as well-intentioned as the Father Brown stories – the advice from WordPress, or my posts? Neither do I understand what you mean when you say “they amble” … Did you mean “ramble”? I cannot answer for Chesterton (it’s been a long time since I read Father Brown stories), but I certainly plead guilty to rambling. Taking one’s time and pausing to take in incidental delights seems to me far more enjoyable than merely marching straight from Point A to Point B. As for the “greater intent and intellect” … whose intent and whose intellect? And greater than whose? I am sorry I can’t answer your post, but I really do not understand what you are saying.

      Cheers, Himadri

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 373 other followers

