Hello world!

Hello, and welcome to my blog.

This is my first post here, but I trust I’ll get to know my way round this blogging business soon enough, and that in no time at all, I’ll be churning out posts like billy-o.

My aim is to blog on whatever takes my fancy. I’ll try to keep off politics – not because I don’t have strong political opinions, but because I generally find that political discussion, especially on the net, tends to generate more heat than light. On other topics that interest me, I am more than happy to live up to my screen name – Argumentative Old Git.

I expect most of my blogs will be related to cultural matters – especially literature. I do, however, expect to post occasionally on other topics – music (lack of knowledge or understanding doesn’t appear to be a bar to anyone else on the blogosphere – so why should it stop me?); the visual arts (ditto); cinema, theatre, etc. My likes and dislikes, my various enthusiasms and blind spots and eccentricities, will all become clear, I think, in due time.

And I welcome argument. Not rudeness or name-calling or personal vituperation, of course – although I do appreciate that that sort of thing often passes for argument. I mean actually examining each other’s points, clarifying assumptions, agreeing on definitions – you know, that sort of thing.

A few biographical details: my name is Himadri Chatterjee; I am by profession an operational research analyst; I have recently turned 50, but still have my own hair and my own teeth; I live in the south of England with my wife and two teenage children; I was born in India of Indian parents, and have lived in Britain since I was 5; I grew up mainly in Scotland, and, for my sins, still cheer on their national football team; and, last but not least, I have a big, bushy beard.

That’s enough for an introduction, I think. Now comes the difficult bit…

12 responses to this post.

  1. Welcome to the blogosphere! I hope you won’t develop an inferiority complex from people constantly referring to you as the Argumentative Old Git, but maybe you harbour suspicions that acquaintances already do that behind your back. I look forward to reading your thoughts.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Michael H. on February 24, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    Dear AOG,
    Look forward to reading you.
    Michael

    Reply

  3. Posted by Evie on March 2, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Just wanted to say – looking snazzy these days! (And the blog doesn’t look too bad either!)

    Reply

  4. Hi there!

    Followed your link.

    Looking forward to book group again.

    Reply

  5. Also, let’s go to the theatre some time.

    Reply

    • Well, with an offer like that – how can I refuse! 🙂

      Good to see you here,. I’m still in the process of building this blog, and I don’t know all the ropes yet, but I do hope you’ll be dropping in from time to time – or, preferrably, more regularly!

      And yes, if you can convince the rest of the Book group to go for a theatre evening, that’d be great! At the moment, it’s difficult just arranging to meet up. Or even to agree on a book!

      See you around.

      Reply

  6. Posted by Melanie on March 12, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    Great blog, H! I’m loving the chance to catch up with reading your Bardathon here… Once I’ve read a bit more and had a good ponder, I’ll jump in with some comments. Looking forward to some great discussion [argumentative old bat mode available on request! 😉 ]

    All the best for your new venture in the blogosphere!

    Reply

  7. Posted by lizzysiddal on May 6, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    Belated welcome to the blogosphere, AOG. Looking forward to many an argument …..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

