Palindromes

Everyone has their favourites, of course. My favourites are:

Tulsa night life: filth, gin, a slut

And, simply because it makes no sense at all:

Satan, oscillate my metallic sonatas

I have been told that there is a book full of palindromes entitled I Love Me, Vol I.

And I thought that was the first instalment of Stephen Fry’s memoirs…

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Erika W. on January 29, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    My favorite: The first man introduces himself to Eve “Madam I’m Adam”.

    Reply

  2. I think Stephen Fry is quite a decent palindromicist himself, in fact.

    One of my favourites, I think I’ve written elsewhere, is “Norma is as selfless as I am, Ron.” I think Auden claimed authorship of that one.

    Reply

  3. I think I may have invented a word there. Palindromist appears to be more common. Let’s go with that.

    A man, a plan, a strap-on (no parts) – anal Panama!

    Reply

    • Yes, I agree – that one is an absolute corker!

      I love anagrams as well. It was pointed out to me recently that TWELVE PLUS ONE is an anagram of ELEVEN PLUS TWO. When I mentioned that to a friend who sets crossword puzzles, he rather dampened my enthusiasm somewhat by telling me that that was actually quite well known. His own favourite anagram is BRITNEY SPEARS = PRESBYTERIANS. pprently, quite a few people in the crossword-setting community claim credit for that one.

      Reply

  4. And speaking of anagrams, I suppose the anagram of my own name (THE REJECT AMID HAIR) is too well known (on the books board at least) to require further comment…

    Reply

  5. I suppose Araucaria must be one of the great anagrammatists of our age. One of his most famous is “O hark the herald angels sing the boy’s descent which lifted up the world”, which is an anagram of “While shepherds watched their flocks by night, all seated on the ground”. I can’t help being in awe of a mind capable of working that out.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Shonti Mukherjee on February 1, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    How about this one: Virender Sehwag….Giver sheer wand!!

    I made that one up by myself.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Jed Bartlet on February 17, 2011 at 10:41 pm

  8. Posted by Jed Bartlet on February 19, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    You’re very welcome. I’m not engaging on any of the intellectual stuff, of course; a thread on palindromes I can contribute to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

