What title would you give to your autobiography?

In the first place, I wouldn’t think of penning an autobiography: it would either be dishonest or embarrassing, and, either way, tedious, both for myself and for any prospective reader. But if I were to be so egotistical as to imagine that complete strangers may take an interest in my life, what would I call it? Well, given that I arrived in Britain from India as a 5 year-old, and given that I quickly became typecast as the Second Wise Man in school nativity plays, I think I may well title my hypothetical autobiography Westward Leading, Still Proceeding.

Now, over to you.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Marita on August 12, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    I think ‘Second Wise Man’ would be quite a catchy title after all it’s the title t hat counts, not what’s in the book (as heard from the author of ‘Driving over Lemons’ on Rick Stein’s cookery program -said rather tongue-in-cheek).
    I’d call mine ‘Breaking the Glass’. I’ve always been very shy (and often still am) and most of the time felt as if I was looking at life through a pane of glass, seeing everything but not able to interact with it.. Still feel like that sometimes and breaking that glass is a continuous fight.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Erika W. on August 12, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    Now you have me thinking again. Good; it gets me away from brooding over the riots and the loss of the Reeves furniture store, a real landmark in Croydon, which I passed frequently as a teenager to get to Wandle Park.

    I have reached my 70th birthday after having been told “You should live until 50” Then “By 60 you will be in a wheel chair” Neither of these dim prophecies came true.

    Reply

  3. Veni, Vidi, Mori

    Reply

  4. Posted by alan on August 14, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    The Beards of Wrath.
    laudant illa…
    Blessed and Cursed.
    We British.

    Reply

  5. Sadly it would have to be a trilogy and then again a quadrilogy – if such there be – but the beginning would be difficult to Title correctly since Lemony Snicket has beaten me to the most appropriate Title – “A series of unfortunate events” I may not get it written since my sort of honesty would be unacceptably accurate to four families.
    Maybe honesty can be carried to an unacceptable degree I like the look of this site – could I come back again – presently

    Reply

  6. Afflicted one, storm-tossed, and not comforted (Isaish54:11)

    I thought that would be a good bio title many years ago and have not changed my mind!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

