Concert in Egham on the Ides of March

I tend not to use this site for advertising, but since it’s my site, I guess I am free to break my own rules. For most of you, it won’t matter anyway: this post is aimed solely at those who live within reasonable travelling distance of Egham in Surrey, and who are free on the evening of Saturday the 15th – the Ides of March.

For on that evening, the Egham and District Music Club, of which I am currently chairman, will host the distinguished pianist James Lisney in a concert featuring the three final sonatas of Haydn, Beethoven, and Schubert. The concert will be held in the United Church of Egham, on Egham High Street. You may find here  details of the concert here.

The piece by Haydn, I must confess, I am not familiar with. The Beethoven sonata is nothing short of visionary: that long variation movement with which the movement closes – and a discussion which forms one of the most memorable passages in Thomas Mann’s Doctor Faustus – takes us into regions of sound and of feeling that had not till then been imagined.

And that final Schubert sonata – the last of the three he composed merely weeks before his untimely death – is simply a miracle. If I were given to gushing, I would describe it as balm for the soul. But since I’m not, I won’t. (How about that for a bit of paralipsis?)

You may see here Mr Lisney’s website, and the various concerts he has in his future itinerary. May I just say that our hall is a relatively small one, and it isn’t often one gets to hear a musician of such quality playing music of such quality from such close quarters.

Have I sold this to you enough? No? All right then, if, during the evening you come up to me and mention this post, I promise to buy you a raffle ticket. Now, I can’t say fairer than that!

(You may buy tickets in advance here.)

5 responses to this post.

  1. I’m really sorry I can’t come, due to being on the wrong side of the Atlantic Ocean. Sounds like a wonderful concert.

    Reply

    • Hello Nancy, It does promise to be a good concert! (Apparently, the last time James Lisney played that programme was in Carnegie Hall! Obviously, I wasn’t expecting anyone to come from great distances for this – and crossing the Atlantic is certainly a very great distance! … I was just hoping that anyone from nearby who reads this might be interested.

      I often feel I should write more about music, but I don’t really know how to go about it! With something such as Schubert’s last sonata, say – apart from saying “I love it”, what more is there for someone as musically uneducated as myself to say? Oh well – at least i can enjoy listening to it!

      Cheers, Himadri

      Reply

  2. A splendid programme. I have heard James Lisney play Beethoven’s Op111 and Schubert D960 (though not in the same programme). You will not be disappointed: I am disappointed I can’t be there due to piano teacherly commitments 😦

    Reply

    • It was indeed a wonderful concert. Hearing those extraordinary pieces played so superbly at such close quarters – it’s an experience I won’t forget in a hurry. Evennow, days after the event, I have the trills of Beethoven’s Op 111 haunting my mind.

      Reply

  3. Wonderful stuff! That second movement is remarkable. Hope we can hook up at another concert this – I have a few spare press tickets for various Wigmore concerts. Will keep you posted 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

