The Further Adventures of Dante Alighieri (coming to a cinema near you)

When well-known books are adapted for the screen, there’s always wailing and gnashing of teeth from aficionados of the book about the liberties taken. I am quite relaxed on this matter: no film has any obligation, as far as I’m concerned, to be respectful to the original source material, and, however inept the film may be in comparison to the book, the book itself will not cease to be. And if people who have not read the book mistake what they see on screen to be an accurate reflection of what is in the book, then they are welcome to do so.

But this latest proposal attracted my attention. I realise it is still in the early stages, and may never even get made, but I do hope it does. It is a proposed adaptation – the word must be used loosely – of Dante’s Inferno, no less. In this version, “Dante descends through the nine circles of hell to save the woman he loves”. What larks!

Bring it on, say I! I already sitting here waiting with my popcorn and fizzy drink!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by alan on September 7, 2015 at 8:10 pm

    If that’s the case then there’s a science fiction novel based on Dante’s Inferno by Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle, imaginatively called “Inferno”, that will be right up your street. Instead of Virgil, the protagonist is guided through hell by Benito Mussolini…

    Reply

  2. Brava (for Beatrice)! I too cannot weight — indeed it makes me light as a feather.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jonathan on September 8, 2015 at 6:46 am

    I hope there are loads of explosions and car chases.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

