The Argumentative Old Git is unwell

I know I sometimes have fairly long periods of inactivity on this blog, but none has been longer, I think, than the hiatus between my last post and this. Fact is, as the title of this post indicates, I have not been well. Well, it’s no secret, so I might as well spit it out … Two weeks ago I had a heart attack, and have since undergone open-heart surgery. I am now back home recuperating, but, as yet, am in no state, mentally or physically, to write new posts.

This is not the end of the blog. I am told I am recovering well, and that my current state of physical exhaustion and of mental torpor should not last too long. As and when I become better, I shall of course return to blogging. Till then, there’ll be no new posts, no responses to comments, nor replies to individual e-mails (of which I know there are some residing in my inbox).

My time will be spent in napping, in taking brief walks round the house, and in silent gratitude to those whose skill and care have saved my life.

Speak to you all later.

41 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tash on November 1, 2016 at 3:45 pm

    Hello! I really enjoy reading your posts, so I was very sorry to learn that you’ve been so ill. Best wishes for a good recuperation – hope you are feeling much better soon.

    Reply

  2. So sorry to hear about your illness and glad you made it through. Best wishes for a swift and full recovery!

    Reply

  3. Get well. I’m looking forward to your return to active duty.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Alan on November 1, 2016 at 3:58 pm

    So sorry to hear that, but delighted to know you’re on the mend. All the best!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mark on November 1, 2016 at 4:14 pm

    Take care of yourself. Because you’re worth it.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mark on November 1, 2016 at 4:42 pm

    Warmest wishes to you, Himadri. Here’s hoping for the speediest of recoveries.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Lindsay Mair on November 1, 2016 at 4:45 pm

    Himadri

    Get well soon….and retire!

    Then you’ll get a healthier lifestyle

    Lindsay

    Reply

  8. Needless to say surprised, I am very happy to know you overcame the challenge, and wish you get well soon.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Dorothy on November 1, 2016 at 6:00 pm

    Get well soon, and take good care of yourself.

    Reply

  10. I’m so sorry to hear this. I hope you’ll get better very soon.
    Take care.

    Reply

  11. I’d seen you were unwell but hadn’t realised the nature of the problem. Take care of yourself, and I look forward to the time when you’re able to blog again!

    Reply

  12. Posted by mudpuddle on November 1, 2016 at 6:29 pm

    the traitor body: how much pain and distress it’s responsible for!.. hope you get back to normal soonest and resume your very interesting posts…

    Reply

  13. Posted by Marita on November 1, 2016 at 6:53 pm

    I’d seen on FB that you’d been in hospital. I wish you a speedy and full recovery, and am looking forward to reading more on your interesting blog.

    Reply

  14. Posted by Maggie on November 1, 2016 at 7:51 pm

    So sorry to hear this. Rest works wonders. Look forward to your recovery and return.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Jonathan on November 1, 2016 at 11:22 pm

    I’m sorry to hear about your health issues but glad to hear you’re recuperating ok. All the best!

    Reply

  16. So sorry to hear this. I am glad that you are home and recovering. I hope that you recover quickly.

    Reply

  17. What a blow. Best wishes. Recover so I can buy you a beer someday.

    Reply

  18. Holy cats! Take care of yourself.

    Reply

  19. Wishing you a restful and comfortable recovery, filled with good reading.

    Reply

  20. Sorry to hear about your cardiac event, Himadri, although I’m naturally happy to hear that you’re on the mend. Your plans for getting better sound eminently sensible to me, though, and I wish you all the best on your path to recovery. Please take care!

    Reply

  21. Heart attack! I wish you well. Yours is the only blog to which I am subscribed.

    Reply

  22. Get well soon! The crisis has passed but you have to take good care of yourself while recuperating.

    Reply

  23. I’m so sorry to hear you’re unwell, and I wish you a complete recovery. Take care!

    Reply

  24. I’m sorry to hear about you being unwell. I hope you’ll get better soon and be your old self.

    Take care.

    Reply

  25. Posted by Chris Jennings on November 2, 2016 at 9:28 pm

    Best wishes for your recovery, Himadri.

    Chris

    Reply

  26. May you have a full & speedy recovery.

    Reply

  27. Posted by Carolyn on November 3, 2016 at 12:58 am

    Oh Himadri, That is dreadful news. I am so sorry. At the moment I am not home, illness related too. My husband has not been well, with exhaustion and not able to keep food down. Eventually they took him into hospital, and because I can’t get myself into and out of bed, I have had to be away from home too.

    Do take care of yourself. Best wishes as always.

    Reply

  28. I’ll add to the good wishes. I hope the recovery doesn’t drag on too long, but, of course, I hope it’s thorough.

    Reply

  29. Posted by witwoud on November 3, 2016 at 10:38 pm

    Very sorry to hear that, Himadri. Hope you recover soon.

    Reply

  30. Posted by Tony on November 4, 2016 at 10:20 am

    Sorry to hear this – all the best for a speedy recovery.

    Reply

  31. I am very sorry to hear this. I hope that your recuperation is speedy and that you find time to read good things for your own enjoyment without bothering to entertain your readers.

    Reply

  32. Really sorry to hear this, get well soon!

    Reply

  33. So sorry to hear this, Himadri! xxx

    Reply

  34. Very sorry to learn that you’ve been unwell. I wish you the speediest of recoveries.
    Neil

    Reply

  35. So sorry to hear this. I do hope you make a full recovery.

    Reply

  36. I have been away from the blogs far too much these past months, and just saw this. I’m so very sorry, Himadri, but so very glad to hear that you are “recovering well.” Here’s to that continuing at a quick pace.

    Reply

  37. Thank you, all, for your kind messages, and my apologies for not being able to respond to each one individually.

    I am currently at home recuperating, but this will take time. I had thought recuperation will be pleasant and refreshing, but, in reality, it is uncomfortable, often painful, frustrating, and very boring. In short, it’s no fun at all. My mind isn’t yet up to any serious reading, so I’ve been amusing myself with Wodehouse, Sherlock Holme, and ghost stories. However, things are improving, and, all being well, I hope to get back to blogging again in a few weeks’ time.

    All the best for now, Himadri

    Reply

  38. Glad to hear things are getting better, even if slowly and not as delightful as desired. Here’s hoping the recuperation continues so we can discuss “The One King Lear” by Brian Vickers soon!

    Reply

  39. Dear Himandri,

    I am very sorry to hear about your illness.
    I am glad to hear that you are getting better, however boring and unpleasant the process might be. Hope you feel your usual self again soon.

    Sending you love and sincere wishes for a complete and thorough recovery.
    Anna

    Reply

  40. Posted by Alyssa Anderson on December 8, 2016 at 9:20 pm

    Hi,
    I am brand new to your blog (just found you today) and I am so sorry to hear about your heart attack. I hope you are doing well. I will be waiting to hear more from you soon but at least you have lots of excellent content to tide me over until you recover 🙂 Best Wishes!
    Alyssa Anderson
    The Bookery
    Where Words Meet Minds

    Reply

  41. I just discovered your blog today. I am sorry to hear you have been unwell. I am sending you wishes for a speedy recovery!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

