Group Read of “Our Mutual Friend” in the New Year

It occurs to me that the group read of Our Mutual Friend that I’d suggested some time ago isn’t too far away now.

I don’t know that I want to make this a formal thing. I’ll certainly be reading it in the New Year, and will be posting about it while I’m reading. If anyone wants to join in, please do feel welcome.

It’s probably best if we all read at our own pace, rather than set some schedule for so many chapters per week or whatever. And if anyone wants to discuss some aspect of it, you can either add a comment to one of my posts, or put up a post on your own blog and put up a link to it from here, or whatever. Or, if you don’t have your own blog, you could e-mail me whatever it is you want to post, and I could put it up here as a guest post. Whatever – as long as some discussion occurs.

The last time I read this book was about 20 years ago, so I am greatly looking forward to this, and I do hope you’ll join me.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Oxford is releasing new editions of several major Dickens titles for the 200th year. I will finish Mann’s Man of Straw and then start Our Mutual Friend. I intend to watch any film versions I can find too.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Erika W. on December 20, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    I am going to read Claire Tomalin’s biography of Dickens before I dig into “Our Mutual friend”‘

    Have a very good Christmas..

    Reply

  3. We’re all doing something before reading Our Mutual Friend! I’m reading Little Dorritt first.

    Reply

  4. When will you start? Have it on the TBR ever since I saw BBC’s wonderful adaptation. However, I didn’t have the best of times with Great Expectations and Oliver Twist, so I’m always avoiding it. This might be the push I needed.

    Was also thinking about reading the new biography as a humble homage.

    Reply

    • Hello Alex, I started reading on the commuter train in to work this morning, and, continuing my reading on the commuter train back after work, have now read the first three chapters. I’ll put up something on it this weekend. But please do feel free to start whenever you like!

      Reply

Leave a comment